Phi Boota roota is a national percussion fraternity. Through the coordination that is required while performing with each other, percussionists tend to naturally come together and bond. Phi Boota roota exists to strengthen those bonds among percussionists. In doing so, we come together to promote and teach the art of percussion to those both within and outside the organization.

The first chapter of Phi Boota roota, IPT, was founded on September 26, 1976 at the University of Southern Mississippi (USM) by Connie Sprinkle, Joe Evans, and Glen Buckalew. In 1981, Scooter Wooten and Roy King instituted the second chapter, IAO, at Louisiana State University (LSU). A year later, in 1982, LSU became the home of the national headquarters. Later in 1982, John Paul Gay (LSU) became the “National Founding Father” by helping establish 10 new chapters. 


Phi Boota roota held the first national convention, called UniPhi, on April 19, 2008, in Columbia, SC. This convention brought together many chapters that were previously independent. The chapters in attendance at the first national convention were Troy University, University of South Carolina, James Madison University, and Louisiana Tech. The purpose of the first convention was to unite the independent chapters and establish Phi Boota roota as a legitimate percussion organization. The first national constitution, which was made to govern the united chapters, was created at the first convention. Each convention after has furthered the purpose of the first, and helped unify existing chapters and create new ones.


​​James Madison University,  Gamma Sigma
Louisiana State University, Iota Alpha Omicron
Louisiana Tech University, Phalam Stutter​
Longwood University, Beta Chi
Missouri Western State University, Delta Upsilon Tau
Old Dominion University, Beta Phi
Stephen F. Austin State University,  Beta​
Troy University, Alpha Zeta​
Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Iota Beta Nu
University of Louisiana at Monroe, Lambda Rho Alpha
University of South Alabama, Phi Lambda
University of Southern Mississippi, I Phelta Thi
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Delta Phi​
University of West Alabama, Beta Nu​
University of Montevallo, Epsilon Psi Phi   


About Phi Boota roota

Chapter Locations

© Phi Boota roota, National Percussion Fraternity. all content and functionality on this site, including text, graphics, logos, icons and images and the selection and arrangement thereof is the exclusive property of Phi Boota roota, National Percussion Fraternity, and is protected by U.S. and International Copyright Laws. All rights not expressly granted are reserved. 2008-2020