top of page

James Madison University - Gamma Sigma

The Gamma Sigma chapter of Phi Buda ruda was founded on the campus of James Madison University on April 17, 1994. Tony Deyo, JMU School of Music Alumni, started Phi Buda Ruda at JMU. Deyo learned of Phi Boota Roota in the summer of 1993 while marching in the Cadets of Bergen County with John Crotchett, former student of the University of Southwestern Louisiana.  Deyo got excited about the idea of a percussion fraternity and took the initiative to start a chapter at JMU when he returned in the fall. He began by posting flyers that read, “PBr is coming soon.” Deyo managed to get the interest of several of his fellow percussionists. With the help of Cory Gasaway, Jed Springer and Adam Nyreen (members of the Alpha, Beta, and Gamma class), Deyo was able to keep the fraternity growing. The four of them would become known as the founding fathers of the Gamma Sigma chapter.


Main National Pic 1.jpg

Gamma Sigma Officers - Spring 2023

  • President: Jack Christman

  • Vice President: Zachary Ratcliffe

  • Treasurer: Sammi Kabrick

  • Secretary: Lanie Niide

  • Historians: Julia Merrell & Anna Robinson

    Chapter E-mail:

    Facebook: Phi Buda ruda - Gamma Sigma Chapter

Instagram: @pbr_jmu

Chapter Officers

bottom of page